Yes, There Is Voter Fraud

Yes, there is voter fraud, and it is committed every day by Republican state Legislatures all across the country, but most especially in the Southern States.  This fraud is in the form of defrauding people the right to vote. One of the worst of these so-called “Voter ID” laws was enacted by the North Carolina state Legislature in 2013. Precision-crafted and tailor-made, it was designed to keep “colored people” from being able to register easily, or to have the opportunity for early voting, both of which were shown by statistical analyses to be favored by Black people. Fortunately, this odious law was struck down by a Federal Court as being discriminatory.

The State of North Carolina appealed, and the case wound its way to the U.S. Supreme Court. On Monday of this week, the Supreme Court refused to hear the case.  I was surprised by this a bit, since Mad Dog Gorsuch had already been inserted (into an already conservative court) just recently by Hairball Trump and the gutless Senate. So, I have been daydreaming as to what may have happened. Here is my daydream.

 

SCENE: The office of Chief Justice (CJ) John Roberts of the U.S. Supreme Court.

KNOCK ON THE DOOR:

CJ Roberts: “Come in.”

ENTERS Associate Justice (AJ) Clarence Thomas: “Pardon me, John, I would like to talk with you.”

CJ Roberts: “Sure, Clarence, come in. What’s on your mind?”

AJ Thomas: ” I came to talk to you about the North Carolina Voter ID law that is being appealed.”

CJ Roberts: “Yes, I am planning to put it on the docket this week.”

AJ Thomas: “Well, that’s just it. I don’t want you to do any such thing.”

CJ Roberts: “But Clarence, this case is a very important conservative cause. You are one of the most conservative judges, ever. I am surprised that you would not want to hear North Carolina’s appeal argument.”

AJ Thomas: “I have carried the torch for conservatism from the day George Bush appointed me. But this goes too far. It goes against my people, Black people, so deeply that it might as well be back to the poll tax of the 1920s and ’30s. I just can not go along with this.”

CJ Roberts: “I hear you, Clarence. But the Republican establishment will have my hide if I don’t put this up for a vote. With Gorsuch on board, North Carolina can not lose.”

AJ Thomas: “John, you are not listening to me. I have been your lackey, your Uncle Tom – literally – for all these years. But if you go and put this case up for a vote, I am going to make your life hell. I am going to start singing and air all of our dirty laundry; all of our back door deals; all of our compromises of being human; how little we care for or about the average American, out there for everyone to see.”

CJ Roberts: “I … I… Clarence, I have never…heard you talk…like this!”

AJ Thomas: “I’m telling you, John…”

CJ Roberts: “OK. OK. But I can’t just say that this case has no merit… I have to make up something as an excuse…”

AJ Thomas: “Fine, do it that way, but don’t you put this case on the docket. Not now, not ever. Thank you.”

SCENE FADES OUT.

 

Like I said, it is a daydream. But, according to the New York Times, CJ Roberts said in a single-sentence statement that “nothing should be read into the court’s decision to decline to hear the case.”

Leave a Reply

