“God, Guns and Guts”

I recently saw a bumper sticker on a pickup truck. It said: “God, Guns and Guts Made America Great.”

After the latest mass shooting in California, I heard a minister, a “man of the cloth,” say in an interview that if the people at the party had been armed , the shooters would have been dealt with. I have heard this argument many times before, and it is a favorite of the National Rifle Association (NRA). While this kind of reasoning may be very seductive, I hate to think of the greater degree of carnage that would have ensued if everybody wildly started shooting. Everybody pulling guns may work in a Hollywood movie or parody, but not in real life.

We have an interesting and disturbing ideology in this country: the Bible in one hand, a gun in another. I have always found this to be a weird combination. And our political candidates uttering that hackneyed phrase that “our thoughts and prayers are with the victims” are about as phony as a 3-dollar bill.

As I said before, I am not against guns. At various times in my life, I have owned a shotgun, a rifle and a revolver. I enjoy target practice, skeet and trap shooting, and I was a member of my university’s rifle club many years ago. I worked as an armed security guard while I attended college. I don’t hunt, but I am not against it. But do people really “need” to own assault weapons? The sole purpose of such a gun is in its name: to assault, maim or kill as many people as possible in the shortest amount of time. An AR 15 rifle, such as was used in San Bernardino, has no value as a target rifle or as an instrument of hunting. And if we should be able to buy such a weapon, why stop there? Why shouldn’t I be able to own a bazooka, or a rocket-propelled grenade launcher? Or, for that matter, why can’t I drive an Abrams A1A tank around town if I promise to stay out of the passing lane on the interstate?

We can “honor” the Second amendment of the Constitution without having such lethal firepower available over-the-counter to anyone who has the money to buy it.  Yes, I know that a .38 caliber revolver bullet can kill as much as a .223 caliber ammunition from the assault rifle, but the latter weapon is designed , as I said earlier, to lead to carnage in a matter of seconds. And our “background checks” have big enough loopholes in them that you could drive a tractor trailer through them.

Can we not have sensible weapons restrictions in this country? Do our “Christian values” have to include a worship of guns?

 

 

Leave a Reply

